Tag Archive

holman prize judging

Meet the blind judges who will select the 2018 Holman Prizewinners

Meet the blind judges who will select the 2018 Holman Prizewinners

In its second year, the Holman Prize for Blind Ambition received almost one hundred applications from 19 countries and 22 American states. The semifinalists’ proposed projects are extraordinary – including bringing beep baseball to Argentina, creating the world’s first tactile Escape Room, launching a magazine dedicated to the art and science of smell and empowering people who are blind in rural Gambia. It won’t be an easy task to choose he three 2018 prizewinners from such a strong and diverse group.

The Holman Team is in the process of selecting finalists for the judging committee to select from, but in the meantime, we invite you to peruse the whole group of semifinalists’ Holman Prize submission videos to experience the diversity of people and proposals in the field.

In just a few weeks, we’ll welcome our judges in San Francisco to review the finalists’ proposals and select the 2018 Holman prizewinners. Learn more about the judges below and stay tuned for a forthcoming announcement of our elite group of Holman Prize Finalists.

Bryan Bashin Headshot

Bryan Bashin, CEO at the LightHouse for the Blind in San Francisco since 2010.

Don Brown Headshot

Don Brown, CEO of Access Work Systems, a HR compliance Management consulting firm, which he founded in 2000.

Dr. Wendy David headshot

Dr. Wendy David, licensed clinical psychologist in private practice in Seattle and published author of books including, “Sites Unseen: Traveling the World without Sight.”

Chancey Fleet Headshot

Chancey Fleet, assistive technology coordinator at the Andrew Heiskell Braille and Talking Book Library at New York Public Library.

Aerial Gilbert headshot

Aerial Gilbert, former outreach manager for Guide Dogs for the Blind in San Rafael. She is also an avid rower and has competed in the adaptive division of the World Rowing Championships.

Rosa Gomez, assistant deputy director of the Specialized Services Division of the California State Department of Rehabilitation.

Anil Lewis headshot

Anil Lewis, executive director of the NFB Jernigan Institute in Baltimore, MD.

Dr. Brian Miller Headshot

Dr. Brian Miller, U.S. Department of Education, Office of Special Education and Rehabilitative Services in Washington D.C.

Dr. Sile O'Modhrain Headshot

Dr. Sile O’Modhrain, professor in performing arts technology at the school of Music, Theatre and Dance at the University of Michigan.

Jason Roberts Headshot

Jason Roberts, an accomplished author, Roberts’ wrote “A Sense of the World: How a Blind Man Became History’s Greatest Traveler,” about the intrepid blind traveler (and namesake of this prize) James Holman.

Dr. Sharon Sacks headshot

Dr. Sharon Sacks, former superintendent of the California School for the Blind. Sacks recently retired.

Victor Tsaran headshot

Victor Tsaran, technical program manager at Google, helping to make Android accessible for all.

Dr. Sheri Wells-Jensen

Dr. Sheri Wells-Jensen, associate professor in the Department of English at Bowling Green State University in Bowling Green, Ohio.

Gary Wunder Headshot

Gary Wunder, president of the National Federation of the Blind of Missouri and the editor of the Braille Monitor.